Taubman Museum of Art Welcomes New Board Chair

A man in a dark suit and tie wearing glasses smiles at the viewer
John P. Fishwick, Jr., Chair

ROANOKE, Va. (July 1, 2024) – The Taubman Museum of Art announced today that the Board of Trustees has elected John P. Fishwick, Jr., as board chair. He succeeds Leon P. Harris, who served as chair for eight years.

“John’s professional experience, commitment to his community, and dedication to the arts make him the ideal next chair,” said Harris. “The Taubman Museum of Art is in a strong position with solid finances, dedicated staff and volunteers, and enthusiastic members. I can’t wait to see what the future holds under John’s leadership.”

Harris will remain on the board as vice chair.

“I am honored to serve the Museum in this new role,” said Fishwick, who joined the board in 2017. “The Taubman Museum of Art truly lives its mission, making art accessible to everyone in our community. I look forward to being an ambassador for the Taubman Museum of Art.”

Fishwick is the owner and founder of Fishwick & Associates PLC, a Roanoke-based trial law firm. He is the former United States Attorney for the Western District of Virginia. Fishwick also serves as a board member for the Roanoke Higher Education Foundation. He is married to Jeanne, and they have two sons, Richard and Jack.

The 2024-25 Taubman Museum of Art Board of Trustees is comprised of:

  • Betsy Bumgarner
  • Joanne Leonhardt Cassullo
  • Nicholas Conte
  • Katherin Elam
  • Russ Ellett
  • Tammy Finley
  • John P. Fishwick, Jr., chair
  • Kent S. Greenawalt
  • Mary Dykstra Hagmaier
  • Ed Hall
  • Leon P. Harris, vice chair
  • Larry Jackson
  • Mitchell Kaneff
  • William J. Lemon, secretary
  • Annette Lewis
  • Dr. Sandra Lovinguth
  • Charlotte Porterfield
  • Lutheria Smith
  • Dr. Elda Stanco Downey
  • Jenny Taubman
  • Dr. Robert Trestman
  • J. David Wine, treasurer
  • Nicholas F. Taubman, chair emeritus

Back to Top

Get the latest news about events, programs, and exhibitions in your inbox.