Nature and the Non-Objective Realm

Home >> Exhibitions >> Nature and the Non-Objective Realm
Thursday, March 10, 2011 - Sunday, October 2, 2011

"Nature and the Non-Objective Realm" is a re-installation of the Taubman’s Contemporary Gallery based on photography, painting and sculpture by artists who are represented in the Taubman Museum's permanent collection or have works that are designated as "promised gifts" to the Taubman Museum of Art. The selection is comprised of exemplary works by mostly southeastern artists and emphasizes the relationship between early modern figurative and landscape traditions, and the successive development of abstract and non-objective styles in contemporary art.

The exhibition includes works by Walter Darby Bannard, Jake Berthot, Isabel Bigelow, Steven Bickley, Lyle Bonge (1929 - 2009), Sally Bowring, Richard Carlyon (1930-2006), Paul Frets, Dorothy Gillespie, John Menapace (1927 - 2010), Elizabeth Matheson, Davi Det Hompson (1939-1996),  Frank Hobbs, Victor Huggins (1937 - 2007), Paul Kwilecki (1928 - 2009), Janet Niewald, Jacques Pourcher, Paul Ryan, Kurt Steger, Eric Standley, Robert Stuart, James Surls, and William White.